The chest of drawers from the Isle of Wight.

The very first project!

When on holiday to the lovely island of the Isle of Wight in May 2012, I heard about a fantastic shop which sold second hand furniture at very reasonable prices! After much convincing on my part, me and my Aunty ventured out to this place and found a warehouse full with many wonderful items! I could have spent my life savings in there! However, due to us living 250 miles away I was given strict instructions by my Mum to not bring the whole shop back with me.

 

Therefore, I settled with a chest of drawers (see the picture!) and a little side table. I also treated my self to a tin of Annie Sloan paint and clear wax, as I had heard many many good things about this. As soon as I got home I began working on the drawers. Unfortunately, in my excitement, I forgot to take a picture of the drawers before I began painting them! So only have photos of the finished piece – schoolboy error or what?

 

The paint went on fantastically, no sanding needed! Two coats of paint and a coat of wax later, the drawers were finished! Although I enjoyed this project very much, I did learn a few things… First and foremost, I need to control my impatience and let things dry. Secondly, do not paint the outside of the drawers themselves as you then unleash a whole host of problems with opening and closing them!

 

I would have loved to keep this piece of furniture but I had no room for it, so I let it loose on the world of eBay. It sold to a lovely lady who I hope loves it as much as I did!

Lauren x

About lyates1

23 years young. Experience everything.

One response to “The chest of drawers from the Isle of Wight.

  1. Diane

    Lauren this is brilliant you are obviously very talented -i am so proud of you xx

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

